Project Updates and Plan For 2022

So it’s been quite a while since the latest update. In this post, I want to tell you guys about the stuff I’ve been doing during those times, what is happening with certain projects, and what is the plan for 2022.

Youtube Channel

In recent years, the vtuber industry has been on the rise. Intrigued by this phenomenon, I did some research about them in late 2021. In case you guys didn’t know, I own a Youtube channel where I put stuff that I work on or some recording of games that I played. So, aside from researching the vtuber industry, I also tried on becoming a vtuber for like a week or so on my Youtube channel. It was a fun experience. This event motivates me to build more content on my Youtube channel, which I do until now.

Since I am quite a gamer myself, the channel mostly focused on guide/strategy from the game that I played. There are some Let’s Play streams that happened on the channel, but I think it will not be the main content, since it’s quite hard for me to find time to do so. There is no fixed schedule for the content as I just do this in my spare time.

Lastly, for a bit of trivia, the channel name was changed from Crimsonmystical into Black Mage, and finally Jabberwock Tavern. The first name came from my old obsession with the word Crimson. Back in the day I can’t use Black Mage as my username on Youtube, so I decide to use something with Crimson instead, but Crimson Mage doesn’t sound that great, so I opt to add Mystical to the name, and the name stuck until recently I decided to do some rebranding. Now that I know I can change the display name, I change it to my most used pseudonym, Black Mage. However, after thinking about it for a while, I decide that I want the channel to be a hub for fellow gamers instead of a representation of my persona on Youtube. Thus I decide to change the name again. Since it’s intended to be a place where people are gathering, I decided that the channel name should be a location-like name. Because I was fond of the fantasy stories genre, and playing a lot of RPG video games, I decided that the name will have “Tavern” on it (“Bar” was also considered, but I prefer “Tavern” since it sounds more fantasy-ish than “Bar”). I choose the name “Jabberwock” because it’s my second most used pseudonym, especially on online MMORPGs that I played. And that’s how my channel name becomes “Jabberwock Tavern”.

Lastone: Behind the Choice

10 years ago, I made a game called The LaSTOne for my academy project. The game is quite popular at certain yearly events and that made me keep polishing and remade the game in order to serve a better experience when playing the game. To commemorate the 10 year anniversary of the game, I propose a development for a new version of The LaSTOne to the Dragon Emperors studio, which is somehow got approved.

The original version of the game is some sort of mathematical puzzle called Nim. In the new version, we incorporate some visual novel elements to the game to attract wider audiences. The game is released on steam in late January 2022. Personally, I’m quite proud of how the game turns out to be. Not only it can be enjoyed by fellow puzzle players but also by players that looking for some stories to read. Although, the game can be quite difficult for the unsuspected players.

The game can be found here:

Cursed Mansion

There’s nothing much I can disclose about this project except that we made a lot of progress on the game development. There is a lot of interesting stuff implemented inside the game, so stay tuned! An official statement will be released in the near future, but I don’t know when.

Oracle of Forgotten Testament

We already finished implementing the Simplified Chinese translation for Oracle of Forgotten Testament. All that’s left is just some QA testing and some bug fixing if there’s any. Stay tuned for the updates!

My RGSSx Shop

I’ve been making some preparation to re-open the shop. There is some stuff that I need to cover before the shop is ready to be opened. It should not take too long before the shop service is open again.

Plan For 2022

  1. Release Cursed Mansion and Oracle of Forgotten Testament Chapter 2.
  2. Reopen RGSSx shop.
  3. Make custom RGSS3 ATB system.
  4. Open itch.io script shop.

I think that’s all for the updates. Let’s see if I can complete them all. See you next time. πŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “Project Updates and Plan For 2022

  1. Great to hear from you after a loong time. Hope you haven’t forgotten bout a certain digimon game haha.

  2. Pingback: Project Updates and Plan For 2023 – Trail of A Developer

Leave a comment